USB4 or Thunderbolt 4: What the Port Names Mean on 2-in-1 Laptops
Short answer: USB4 and Thunderbolt 4 are two names for high-speed USB-C ports. Thunderbolt 4 is an Intel-defined specification that includes USB4 capabilities and requires a stricter set of features. USB4 is the USB standard's own high-speed spec. On a 2-in-1 listing, either name means the port can carry data, video, and power through one cable. The difference matters most when you plan to use a Thunderbolt dock or a pro accessory. Port names are usually not stated in the catalogue, so check the maker's page. Related guides compare convertible laptops on stated details.
Two names, one port shape
On a 2-in-1 laptop, the words USB4 and Thunderbolt 4 describe the same physical port shape, the small oval USB-C connector. They are two different specifications for what that connector can do.
Thunderbolt 4 is a specification set by Intel for devices that use the USB-C connector. Every Thunderbolt 4 port must meet a defined set of capabilities. USB4 is the USB standard's own high-speed specification, and a port labeled USB4 follows that standard.
A Thunderbolt 4 port includes USB4 capabilities. A USB4 port does not automatically include every Thunderbolt feature. When a listing states Thunderbolt 4, you know the port meets the stricter specification. When it states USB4, you know it follows the USB standard.
Both names mean the port can carry data, video, and power through a single cable. That is why one USB-C style port on a convertible can handle charging, an external display, and storage.
Reading the port words on a listing
Convertible laptop listings often describe ports in one short line. The words you might see are Thunderbolt 4, USB4, or USB-C on its own. Each word stands for a different confidence level about the port.
Thunderbolt 4 tells you the port passed the maker's certification process for that specification. USB4 tells you the port follows the USB standard's high-speed tier. The bare words USB-C tell you the port shape only, with no stated specification.
A listing that says both USB4 and Thunderbolt 4 is stating that the port meets both. A listing that says only one of the two is not telling you about the other, so the maker's page is the next place to read.
If the listing does not mention a port name at all, the port is still there, but its capabilities are unstated. That is a missing detail worth checking, not a reason to skip the model.
What the data rate does for you
Both USB4 and Thunderbolt 4 are built for high data transfer rates. In plain words, both can move large files and carry video and power through the same cable.
The catalogue does not state transfer rates, so this article does not give numbers for USB4 or Thunderbolt 4. What the buyer needs to know is that both belong to the high-speed tier of USB-C connections.
For a 2-in-1 used for notes, documents, web, and video calls, the difference between the two names is rarely part of daily work. For moving video projects, photo libraries, or large backups between the laptop and an external drive, the higher data rate of either interface is what counts.
If you plan to compare two convertibles on ports, read both maker's pages rather than the listing title, because the title may skip the port line. The USB-C and Thunderbolt charging article explains how charging and data share the same connector.
Hubs, docks, and compatibility
A 2-in-1 has a limited number of built-in ports, so many owners add a hub or a dock: a small device that turns one port into several, for a mouse, a monitor, and a charger at the same time.
Thunderbolt docks are built for the Thunderbolt specification and are designed to work with Thunderbolt 4 ports. USB4 hubs follow the USB standard and generally work with both USB4 and Thunderbolt ports.
The reverse is not always true. A Thunderbolt accessory often needs a Thunderbolt port to use all of its features, while a USB4 accessory usually works in a Thunderbolt 4 port.
If you plan to use a dock, read the dock's own product page as well as the laptop maker's page. The catalogue does not state which hubs a given convertible supports. The port selection guide walks through matching a laptop's ports to the accessories you already have.
When the name matters for pro accessories
For most convertible buyers, either USB4 or Thunderbolt 4 is enough. The name becomes important when you plan accessories that list Thunderbolt as a requirement.
Examples include an external graphics enclosure for heavier creative work, a high-capacity external drive for video files, or a dock driving more than one external display. These accessories often state a specific port requirement on their product pages.
If you already own a Thunderbolt dock, look for a laptop whose listing states Thunderbolt 4. If you are buying the accessory later, match the accessory's stated requirement to the laptop's stated port.
Related guidance on this site: the external GPU and Thunderbolt note, the USB-C cable specs article, and the DisplayPort alternate mode article.
What to check on the maker's page
Port specifications are not part of the catalogue on this site. The catalogue compares stated details like RAM, storage, screen size, weight, operating system, processor family, touch, and brand.
The maker's product page is the reliable source for port names. Look under ports or connectivity for words like Thunderbolt 4, USB4, or USB-C with power delivery.
Windows 11 has minimum requirements for processor, RAM, storage, firmware, security, and display, but not for a specific port name. The Windows 11 specifications page in the sources shows this. The port choice is a hardware decision, made on the maker's page.
The site's guides build their pools from the screen size and the convertible flag in the listing title. For port details, read the maker's page before you choose. The convertible laptop reviews compared on stated details, the premium picks and the Intel Core Ultra picks, are the place to compare models.
- Thunderbolt 4 on the listing: the port meets the Intel-defined specification.
- USB4 on the listing: the port follows the USB standard's high-speed spec.
- Neither name on the listing: check the maker's page for the port details.
- Accessory product page: match the accessory's stated requirement to the laptop's stated port.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You own or plan to buy a Thunderbolt dock | Choose a listing that states Thunderbolt 4 | Best Premium 2 in 1 Laptops (2026): 10 Picks |
| You will attach more than one external display at a desk | Prefer a listing stating Thunderbolt 4 and check the dock's requirements | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Business 2026: 12 Picks |
| You edit video or photos and move large files between drives | Look for USB4 or Thunderbolt 4 with higher RAM and storage tiers | Best 1TB SSD 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 12 Picks |
| You travel and only need charging and a small hub | Either name works; compare on weight and portability | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Travel in 2026: 8 Picks |
| You buy a first convertible for lectures and documents | Port name is a minor detail; focus on RAM, storage, and touch | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Students in 2026: 13 Picks |
| You want an Intel-based convertible with current naming | Check the stated processor family and the maker's port list | Best Intel Core Ultra 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 13 Picks |
Questions
Does Thunderbolt 4 include USB4?
Yes. A Thunderbolt 4 port includes USB4 capabilities. A USB4 port does not automatically include the full Thunderbolt 4 feature set, so the names are not interchangeable.
Will USB4 accessories work in a Thunderbolt 4 port?
Generally yes. USB4 devices are designed to work with Thunderbolt 4 ports. A Thunderbolt accessory may need a Thunderbolt port to use all its features, so check both product pages.
Does the catalogue state whether a port is USB4 or Thunderbolt 4?
Usually not. The catalogue lists RAM, storage, screen size, weight, operating system, processor, touch, and brand. Port names appear on the maker's product page.
Does Windows 11 require USB4 or Thunderbolt 4?
No. Windows 11 minimum requirements cover processor, RAM, storage, firmware, TPM, and display, but no specific port name. The port is a hardware decision.
Is Thunderbolt 4 only on premium convertibles?
The maker decides which ports to include on each model. Check the product page for the stated port names; premium buying guides on this site compare stated details rather than rankings by price.
Which port name is better for an external GPU?
External graphics enclosures list their required port on their own product page. Match that requirement to the laptop's stated port, and read the maker's page for the laptop before buying.
Recent updates
- : First published.