Best2in1Laptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

USB-A or USB-C: Which Ports Do You Need?

Short answer: USB-A is the rectangular port found on older devices; USB-C is the smaller, reversible port found on modern ones. On a 2-in-1, the port types decide which of your existing accessories can plug in without an adapter. If a listing states USB-A, you can use older mice, keyboards, and flash drives directly. If it states only USB-C, you may need an adapter or hub for those. Read the stated port types, then check the maker's page for anything the listing does not say.

The two port shapes you will see on listings

USB-A and USB-C are two connector shapes. USB-A is the rectangular, non-reversible plug that has been common on computers and accessories for years. USB-C is a smaller, oval connector that is reversible, so it goes in either way. Both are general terms for the shape of the plug and socket, not for a particular speed or feature.

On a 2-in-1 listing, the title or the bullet list may name one or both. Some listings say "2x USB-A, 1x USB-C"; others say only "USB-C". When a listing does not state a port, the site's guides compare only the details that are stated.

Why port types matter more on a convertible

A 2-in-1 folds into tent and tablet shapes, so the way you use it changes. In laptop mode you may want a mouse and a charger on either side; in tablet mode you may want no cables at all. The ports decide how many cables you need and where they sit.

When you compare two convertibles on stated details, the port line is one of the quickest ways to tell which one matches your accessories. A model that states only USB-C will treat older rectangular plugs differently from one that also states USB-A. The port selection guide walks through how to read that line.

Reading the port line on a listing

Start with the title: the first words usually name the brand, line, and screen size. Port types may appear in the bullet list rather than the title. Look for words like "USB-A", "USB-C", "Thunderbolt", or "HDMI". These are names on the listing; the guides do not add speed or feature claims to them.

If a port is not stated, that is a missing detail. For anything the listing does not say, check the maker's page before buying. The USB-C only vs USB-A ports article explains how to weigh a listing that names only one shape.

  • USB-A stated: older rectangular-plug devices can plug in directly in general terms.
  • USB-C stated: modern devices and many chargers use this shape.
  • No port line: a missing detail, so check the maker's page.
  • A line like "1x USB-A + 1x USB-C" is two separate ports, not one combined port.

USB-A for your existing accessories

Many accessories that have been around for years use the rectangular USB-A plug: a mouse, a keyboard, a flash drive, an external drive. If those are the things you already own, a 2-in-1 that states USB-A lets you plug them in without an adapter.

Convertibles are often slim, and slim models may carry fewer ports. If the listing states a single USB-A port, that is still enough for one accessory at a time; for more, a hub adds ports in general terms.

USB-C for charging and newer devices

USB-C is the connector shape on many current phones, tablets, and laptops. On a 2-in-1, a USB-C port may be used for charging, for data, and sometimes for a display, depending on the maker's design. The catalogue does not state which of those a USB-C port supports, so check the maker's page.

Because USB-C is reversible, it is easier to plug in without looking at the socket. That is a shape advantage, not a speed or battery claim. For charging questions, the power delivery chargers article explains what to read.

Adapters, hubs, and docks in general terms

If a convertible states only USB-C and you own USB-A accessories, an adapter or a hub is the usual bridge. A hub adds more port sockets; a docking station is a larger base that may add ports and a place for the laptop to sit. Both are accessories, not part of the laptop's stated details.

When a listing adds a hub or dock to the storage figure, read it as a bundle, not as the laptop's own storage. The same care applies to ports: the stated port types belong to the laptop, not to the bundle. See USB-C cable specs for what a cable name does not tell you.

What the guides compare on ports

The site's buying guides compare stated details only: what a listing says about RAM, storage, screen size, weight, operating system, processor family, and port types when they are stated. Ports are part of that pool when the listing names them. When a listing does not, the guides leave the port question to the maker's page.

Windows 11 is the operating system on the convertibles this site covers; Microsoft lists the minimum system requirements for Windows 11 on its specifications page. Ports are not part of those requirements, so a listing's port line is your only clue until you open the maker's page. Processor family words on a title, such as Intel Core Ultra, are names; Intel publishes its suffix list for mobile processors, including those used in laptops and 2-in-1 devices.

Ports in the stated details
What you readWhat it means
USB-A stated on the listingThe rectangular plug fits older accessories directly
USB-C stated on the listingThe reversible plug fits modern devices and many chargers
Thunderbolt statedA name for a USB-C feature; check the maker's page for what it supports
No port lineA missing detail; check the maker's page

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You already own a mouse, keyboard, and flash drive with rectangular plugsA listing that states USB-A in the title or bulletsBest 2 in 1 Laptop (2026): Convertible Laptop Reviews
You want one cable for charging and a dock on a deskA listing that states USB-C and a dock-friendly designBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Business 2026: 12 Picks
You travel and want fewer cablesA slim model with a stated USB-C portBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Travel in 2026: 8 Picks
You take lecture notes and plug in a mouse for editingA student convertible with at least one stated USB-A or a hubBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Students in 2026: 13 Picks
You want the lightest stated weight and will accept fewer portsA lightweight model; check its stated port lineBest Lightweight 2 in 1 Laptops in 2026: 12 Picks
You want a premium finish and modern portsA premium convertible; check the stated USB-C lineBest Premium 2 in 1 Laptops (2026): 10 Picks

Questions

Is USB-C the same as Thunderbolt?

No. USB-C is a connector shape; Thunderbolt is a separate name that may appear on some USB-C ports. The catalogue does not state which features a USB-C port supports, so check the maker's page.

Can I charge a 2-in-1 through its USB-C port?

Many current laptops use USB-C for charging, but the catalogue does not state whether a given port supports it. Check the maker's page for the charging method.

Do I still need a USB-A port if the laptop has USB-C?

It depends on your accessories. If your mouse and flash drive use the rectangular USB-A plug, you either need a USB-A port or an adapter or hub. If everything you own uses USB-C, you may not.

How do I know what ports a listing has?

Read the title and bullet list. Port types appear under names like "USB-A", "USB-C", "Thunderbolt", or "HDMI". If the listing does not state them, check the maker's page.

What is a USB hub?

A hub is a small accessory that adds more port sockets, so one port on the laptop can serve several devices. It is not part of the laptop's stated details.

Does a 2-in-1 have fewer ports than a regular laptop?

In general, slim convertible models may carry fewer ports than larger laptops, but that varies by model. Compare the stated port lines of the listings you are considering.

What does a storage figure that includes a dock mean?

Read it as a bundle. The laptop's storage is the part inside the laptop; a dock adds ports and a place to sit, not laptop storage. The site's guides compare only the laptop's stated storage.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides