Best2in1Laptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

USB-PD or Proprietary Charging for 2-in-1s?

Short answer: A 2-in-1 laptop charges in one of two general ways: through a USB-C port using the USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) standard, or through a proprietary adapter from the maker. The listing's stated details, such as the port line, tell you which method a model uses. Choose USB-PD if you want one charger for several devices; choose proprietary if you prefer the maker's own adapter. The site's guides compare stated details only, and any charging behavior beyond that belongs on the maker's page.

Two ways a 2-in-1 can charge

Every 2-in-1 laptop needs power, and the listing tells you which way it takes it in one of two general methods. The first is USB Power Delivery, often shortened to USB-PD, a standard that allows a USB-C port to carry power to the laptop. The second is proprietary charging, where the maker supplies its own adapter and connector, and that adapter is the one you are expected to use.

Neither method is better on its own. What matters for a buyer is which one fits how the laptop will be used: at a kitchen table, in a lecture hall, on a train, or in a shared room. The stated details on a listing, such as the port list, tell you which method a particular model uses.

What USB Power Delivery means on a listing

USB Power Delivery is a standard, not a brand. When a listing mentions USB-C charging or USB-PD, it is telling you that the laptop can receive power through a USB-C port. That opens the possibility of using one USB-C charger for several devices, as long as each device follows the same standard. This article does not measure charging time or wattage, because the catalogue does not state those.

If carrying one charger matters to you, look for a listing that states a USB-C port and a USB-PD or USB-C charging line. Compare that detail alongside RAM, storage, and weight. The site's charging speed and wattage article explains how to read a stated wattage, and the USB-C and Thunderbolt charging article covers the port itself.

What proprietary charging means

A proprietary charger is the adapter a maker designs for a particular laptop line. It may have a connector that fits only that line, and the listing often names the brand and the adapter, as in a Lenovo charger or an HP charger. When a listing describes the charger this way, expect to keep that adapter with the laptop.

Proprietary charging is not a flaw. It is simply a different arrangement: the maker controls the charger, and the buyer keeps one adapter for one laptop. If you often move between rooms and would rather not unplug and re-plug, a single adapter is a straightforward setup.

Reading the charging line in a title

The title of a 2-in-1 listing is long for a reason: it packs in the screen size, processor, RAM, storage, and often the charging words. Read the charging words as you would read any other stated detail. USB-C or PD points to the standard; a brand name followed by adapter points to a proprietary charger.

If a title states a wattage, treat it as a stated number from the listing, not a claim about how quickly the battery fills. The site's guides compare stated details only. For a deeper look at ports, the port selection guide and the power delivery chargers article explain what each phrase tends to mean in general terms.

Charging around a house or a lecture hall

The way a 2-in-1 charges affects carrying. With a USB-PD laptop, one charger that follows the same standard can serve the laptop and a phone, so a commuter carries one adapter. With a proprietary charger, the laptop has its own adapter, and that adapter needs to travel with it.

In a shared room, a USB-C charger can be left on a common desk and used by anyone whose device follows the standard. A proprietary charger is usually tied to one machine, so it stays with that machine. Neither habit is wrong; the choice is about how many adapters you want in your bag.

What the catalogue cannot tell you

The catalogue on this site has no data on charging time, battery life, or whether a third-party USB-C charger will work with a particular model. Those questions belong on the maker's page. For example, Intel describes its Core Ultra processors as designed to work even when you leave the charger behind, which is a maker claim, not a measured promise. Intel also describes the mobile processor suffix U as power efficient for thin and light laptops, a hint about how a model manages power.

The same is true for system details that sit next to charging. The Windows 11 specifications page states minimum requirements for RAM, storage, and processor; that is separate from how a laptop charges. When a listing does not state a charging method, go to the maker's official specifications and read the port and adapter wording there.

Shortlisting two listings on charging

When two 2-in-1 listings look similar in RAM, storage, and screen size, the charging line can separate them. A listing that states USB-PD offers the standard approach; a listing that states a maker's adapter offers the proprietary approach. Read both lines the same way you read RAM and storage: as stated details, not as performance promises.

The site's convertible laptop reviews compare stated details this way, and the travel guide weighs weight and carrying, which belong to the same decision.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want one charger for a laptop and a phoneA listing that states USB-C charging or USB-PD on the titleBest Lightweight 2 in 1 Laptops in 2026: 12 Picks
You travel often and count adaptersA USB-PD 2-in-1 so one adapter can cover more devicesBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Travel in 2026: 8 Picks
You prefer the maker's own adapterA listing that names a proprietary charger on the titleBest 2 in 1 Laptop (2026): Convertible Laptop Reviews
You share a charger in a common roomA USB-C charging 2-in-1 for flexibilityBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Students in 2026: 13 Picks
You want the lowest stated weightA lightweight USB-PD 2-in-1 if the title states itBest Lightweight 2 in 1 Laptops in 2026: 12 Picks
Budget is the main limitCompare stated details in the under-budget guidesBest 2 in 1 Laptops Under $1000 in 2026: 8 Picks

Questions

What does USB-PD mean on a 2-in-1 listing?

It means the laptop can receive power through a USB-C port using the USB Power Delivery standard. Read it as a stated detail, not as a claim about charging time.

Is proprietary charging worse than USB-PD?

No. It is a different arrangement: the maker supplies an adapter for that laptop line. Choose based on which setup fits your carrying and sharing habits.

Can I use a phone charger for a 2-in-1?

Only if the maker's page states compatibility. The catalogue does not confirm that, so check the official specifications.

Where do I find charging details that are not in the title?

On the maker's official page for the model. The site's guides compare only the stated details in the catalogue.

Do the site's guides rank chargers?

No. The guides rank 2-in-1 laptops on stated details like RAM, storage, and screen size, and they leave charging claims to the maker's pages.

What if the title says nothing about charging?

Check the full listing for a port line, and then check the maker's page. A missing detail is a reason to read further, not to assume.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides