Best2in1Laptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

DisplayPort 1.4 vs 2.0 for 2-in-1 Laptops

Short answer: DisplayPort is the standard a 2-in-1 laptop uses to send video to an external monitor. DisplayPort 1.4 and 2.0 are two generations of that standard; the newer 2.0 version carries more data, which matters when a monitor has a high resolution and a high refresh rate. On most 2-in-1 laptops the video signal travels through a USB-C port, so the stated version on a listing is one detail to compare. If the listing states a version, compare those words; if not, check the maker's page.

Why video output matters on a 2-in-1

A 2-in-1 laptop is chosen for folding, flipping, and tablet use, but many buyers also use it as their only computer on a desk. When that happens, the laptop usually connects to an external monitor or a projector, and the port that carries the picture becomes a stated detail worth reading.

The title and bullet list on a listing can name the video connection generation, just as they name RAM and storage. The question is what those names mean and when they change the buying decision.

What DisplayPort is

DisplayPort is a connection standard for sending video and audio from a computer to a display. It exists as a full-size port and, more often on a 2-in-1 laptop, as a signal that travels through a USB-C port. The latter is usually called DisplayPort Alt Mode, and it is covered in a separate learn article.

The version number, such as 1.4 or 2.0, describes the generation of the port on the laptop. It works like other stated details: the version is a word on the listing, and the buyer compares the same word across two listings.

DisplayPort 1.4 vs 2.0 in plain words

DisplayPort 1.4 is the older generation, and DisplayPort 2.0 is the newer one. The newer generation is designed to carry more picture data to a display, which becomes important when a monitor combines a high resolution with a high refresh rate. For everyday office use with one external monitor, the version is usually not the deciding detail; for a large, high-end display, the newer version is the safer choice.

The catalogue on this site does not state bandwidth numbers, so this article does not repeat any. What a listing can state is simply the version word, and that word is what the guides compare. The same idea applies to the choice between USB-C and HDMI for an external display, explained in a separate learn article.

Reading the version on a listing

A listing title may say 'DisplayPort 1.4' or 'HDMI 2.1' or just 'USB-C'. When a version appears, it is a stated detail. When it does not appear, the buyer reads that as 'not stated by the seller' and checks the maker's page.

On a 2-in-1 laptop, the same USB-C port often handles charging, data, and video. That is why the port selection guide reads the port list as a whole rather than one connector.

If you compare two listings, put the stated video version side by side the same way you put RAM and storage side by side. The listing that states the newer version is the one to prefer when you plan to drive a demanding display.

What to check on the maker's page

The catalogue cannot say how a stated port behaves with a particular monitor, because that depends on the cable, the monitor, and the laptop's graphics output, none of which the listing records. The maker's page is the place to check. Intel's official processor page, for example, states the meaning of mobile processor suffixes, which helps a buyer read a title that names a processor without a port.

Microsoft's Windows 11 specifications page states the minimum display requirement for Windows 11: a high-definition 720p display larger than 9 inches diagonally with 8 bits per color channel. That is a stated figure from an official page, and it shows the kind of detail a buyer can confirm when a listing stays silent.

When the version changes your choice

For most buyers, the version number is not the deciding detail. A 2-in-1 laptop is bought for its screen, weight, RAM, and storage; the video port is a supporting detail. The version starts to matter when you already own a high-resolution monitor or when you present on a shared screen in an office or classroom.

The buying guides on this site compare stated details and leave out anything the catalogue does not record. For a business laptop used with a desk monitor, see the business guide; for travel with projectors, see the travel guide. The main 2-in-1 laptop guide is the starting point for any first-time buyer.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You connect one typical office monitorA listing that states a video port at all, whatever the versionBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Business 2026: 12 Picks
You plan to drive a large high-resolution displayA listing that states the newer version, such as DisplayPort 2.0Best Premium 2 in 1 Laptops (2026): 10 Picks
You present on projectors and hotel TVsA listing with a stated video port and a lightweight buildBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Travel in 2026: 8 Picks
You rarely use an external screenFocus on screen size and RAM instead; any stated video port is enoughBest 2 in 1 Laptop (2026): Convertible Laptop Reviews
You want an Intel Core Ultra convertibleA listing that states the newer video generation alongside the processorBest Intel Core Ultra 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 13 Picks

Questions

Is DisplayPort 2.0 always better than 1.4 for a 2-in-1 laptop?

In plain words, the newer generation carries more data, which helps when a monitor has a high resolution and a high refresh rate. But a listing may state the version without stating what the monitor supports. Compare the stated words and check the maker's page before deciding.

Does the version number affect the laptop's own touchscreen?

No. The version is about sending video from the laptop to an external display. The built-in touchscreen is described by its size, resolution, and panel type on the listing.

The listing does not state a DisplayPort version. What does that mean?

It means 'not stated by the seller'. The buyer reads the port list as a whole and checks the maker's page for the port generation. A missing version is not a defect, it is a detail the guide leaves out.

Can a 2-in-1 laptop connect to a TV?

Yes, through a video port or a USB-C port that carries video. The learn article covers the choice between USB-C and HDMI for an external display.

Does the operating system or the processor change the port version?

Not directly. The port is a stated hardware detail on the laptop, separate from the operating system. The Windows 11 specs page states the minimum display requirement, and the Intel processor page states processor suffixes; neither states a port version.

What does this site leave out about ports?

The catalogue has no data on how a port behaves with a specific monitor, cable, or adapter. The guides leave that out and point the buyer to the maker's page, exactly as this article does.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides