Best2in1Laptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

DDR4 vs DDR5 Memory in 2 in 1 Laptops

Short answer: DDR4 and DDR5 are memory generation words that appear on a listing or in its title. DDR5 is the newer generation word, and LPDDR5 is the low-power form. Microsoft states that Copilot+ PCs must have 16 GB of DDR5 or LPDDR5 memory, while Windows 11 itself lists 4 GB as the minimum RAM. The guides here compare what a listing states, not a claim about how it behaves. Check the maker's page to see whether the memory is soldered or can be changed later.

What DDR4 and DDR5 mean on a listing

Memory appears on a 2-in-1 listing in two places. The title often states the amount and the generation together, as in 16GB DDR5 or a low-power form such as LPDDR5X. The full specification line usually repeats the same detail. DDR4 and DDR5 are generation names for the memory inside the machine. DDR5 is the newer generation word, and LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X are newer low-power forms that show up on thin convertibles. The words tell you which generation the maker equipped, and nothing more than that.

Windows 11 has its own stated floor. Microsoft's specifications page lists 4 GB of RAM as the minimum for the operating system, and lists 16 GB of DDR5 or LPDDR5 as a stated requirement for Copilot+ PCs. That second figure is one reason the site keeps a dedicated 16 GB RAM guide: it aligns with Microsoft's stated Copilot+ memory level.

Why the generation word matters

A buyer choosing a convertible reads the generation word for two reasons. First, DDR5 and LPDDR5 appear on newer configurations and usually sit next to a newer processor family name, so the word works as a rough signal of how recent the listing is. Second, it is one of the few memory details a listing states. The catalogue has no data on memory bandwidth, latency or behavior, so the generation word is the only memory claim the site can compare.

The site never claims one memory generation is better than another. The convertible laptop reviews compared on stated details sort by the same fields on every listing: RAM amount, storage, screen size, weight, operating system, processor family, touch and brand. When two listings differ only in the generation word, the guide says the words differ, and lets the maker's page fill in the design story.

A rule of thumb in words: a listing that states DDR5 or LPDDR5 is describing a newer generation than one stating DDR4. The rule does not tell you which laptop fits your note-taking, document reading or sketching habits. That depends on the stated RAM amount, the processor line and the screen size you choose.

Low-power words on thin convertibles

The L in LPDDR stands for low power. LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X are low-power memory generation names, and they appear on listings for thin and light convertibles. The name is a word to read, not a claim this site can verify: the catalogue has no data on battery life, heat or charging behavior.

Intel's processor naming page lists mobile suffixes with the same spirit: U for power efficient, Y for extremely low-power efficient, and P for thin and light designs. A listing that pairs a U-series processor with LPDDR5 memory carries two words pointing in the same direction: a configuration aimed at light carrying. Pair that reading with the stated weight on the listing.

For carry-heavy choices, the lightweight 2 in 1 laptops guide and the travel 2 in 1 laptops guide read those words next to the stated weight.

Upgradeability as a question to read

A convertible is a folded machine, and the maker decides where the memory sits. The catalogue does not state whether RAM is soldered to the board or held in a slot. Upgradeability is therefore a question to read on the maker's page, not a fact you can pull from the listing.

A general rule, in words: thin 2-in-1 designs with LPDDR memory words usually carry memory that cannot be changed later, because the low-power form is packed onto the board. The rule has exceptions, and every listing differs. If buying a larger RAM size at purchase time matters for your multi-window work, check the maker's page and the service manual before you decide.

Two Learn articles cover this in detail: soldered vs upgradeable RAM and upgradeability: RAM and SSD. The buying guides here sort by the stated RAM amount, so the 16 GB guide is its own page.

How to read a RAM line

Listings phrase RAM in a few ways: 16GB DDR5, a low-power form such as LPDDR5X, or simply 16GB. Read the amount first, then the generation word. The amount is the number that matters for Windows and for how many windows you can keep open. The generation word tells you which memory family the maker chose.

If a listing states the amount but omits the type, that is a missing detail. The guide reads what is stated and moves on; the maker's page is where the type appears. If a listing states a type but no amount, the amount is what the buying guide compares.

Microsoft's Windows 11 specifications list 4 GB as the minimum RAM, and Microsoft states 16 GB DDR5 or LPDDR5 as a Copilot+ PC requirement. For everyday convertible use with many open documents, the 16 GB RAM guide is the natural starting point, and the RAM capacity guide explains how to match the amount to your habits.

What a listing cannot say

The catalogue has no data on memory bandwidth, latency, heat or battery behavior. It does not state whether a DDR4 or DDR5 configuration will behave differently across your apps. Those questions belong on the maker's page, where the maker describes the design in its own terms.

The same limit applies to processor words. A title may say up to a stated clock figure; the site reads that as a stated figure and nothing more. The processor tier comparison explains how to read those words calmly, and DDR5 and LPDDR5 memory words covers the memory side of the same habit.

What the guides do compare: RAM in GB, storage in GB or TB, screen size in inches, weight, operating system, processor family, touch and brand. That is the whole evidence behind each pick, and it is the same evidence for every listing on the site.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a generation word that reads newer on the listingA configuration whose title states DDR5 or LPDDR5Best 2 in 1 Laptop (2026): Convertible Laptop Reviews
You keep many windows open for notes, documents and callsA listing with 16 GB stated RAM or moreBest 2 in 1 Laptops with 16GB RAM in 2026: 13 Picks
You carry the convertible to a lecture hall or train seatA lightweight listing whose title states LPDDR5 with a power-efficient processor suffixBest 2 in 1 Laptops for Travel in 2026: 8 Picks
You want a Copilot+ PC per Microsoft's stated requirementsA listing that states 16 GB DDR5 or LPDDR5 alongside an NPU-capable processorBest Intel Core Ultra 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 13 Picks
You work with large local files and a full disk habitA listing that pairs DDR5 or LPDDR5 with a 1 TB or 2 TB stated SSDBest 1TB SSD 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 12 Picks
Your budget sits in a stated tier such as under 1000The RAM amount and generation word that appear within that tier guideBest 2 in 1 Laptops Under $1000 in 2026: 8 Picks

Questions

Is DDR5 automatically better than DDR4 in a 2 in 1?

Not automatically. DDR5 is a newer generation word, and LPDDR5 is a newer low-power word, but the catalogue has no data on how either behaves in a specific machine. Choose on the stated RAM amount and on what the maker's page says about the design.

Can I change DDR4 memory to DDR5 in a convertible?

Usually not. The memory type is chosen at the factory, and on thin convertibles the memory is often soldered to the board. The listing does not state whether the RAM is changeable; check the maker's page and service manual.

What does LPDDR5 mean on a title?

LPDDR5 is a low-power memory generation name. On a convertible listing it often appears alongside a thin-and-light processor suffix such as U. It is a word to read, not a battery life claim.

Does Windows 11 require DDR5?

No. Microsoft's Windows 11 specifications list 4 GB of RAM as the minimum, with no memory generation named. Microsoft does state 16 GB DDR5 or LPDDR5 as a hardware requirement for Copilot+ PCs.

Why do some listings omit the memory type?

Because not every listing states every detail. The buying guides compare what is stated: if the type is missing, the amount is still compared, and the maker's page is the place to find the type.

Should I pick a 16 GB DDR5 listing over a 32 GB DDR4 listing?

The RAM amount is what the guides compare first. If you keep many windows open or handle large documents, the larger amount serves that need. The generation word is secondary, and the maker's page decides upgradeability.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides