Soldered vs Upgradeable RAM in 2 in 1s
Short answer: Soldered RAM is fixed to the motherboard and cannot be removed or changed. Upgradeable RAM, usually a SO-DIMM module in a slot, can be replaced or added later. Thin 2-in-1 designs often use soldered RAM to stay slim, so the amount you buy is the amount you keep. Windows 11 needs at least 4 GB of RAM; Copilot+ PCs require 16 GB. Read a listing for the stated RAM, then check the maker's page to confirm whether memory is soldered or in a slot.
What soldered RAM means
Soldered RAM is memory fixed directly to the motherboard during manufacturing. It cannot be removed, replaced, or expanded after you buy the laptop. The amount shown on a listing, such as 8 GB, 16 GB, or 32 GB, is the amount the laptop will always have.
A listing rarely uses the word soldered. You might see onboard memory or no memory type at all. When a listing does not mention a memory slot, treat the RAM amount as fixed, and confirm on the maker's page before you rely on it. For a general starting point, see the best 2-in-1 laptop guide.
What a SO-DIMM slot means
SO-DIMM stands for small outline dual in-line memory module. It is the standard removable memory shape for laptops. A SO-DIMM slot lets you replace a module with a larger one, or add a second module if a second slot exists.
A listing that says SODIMM, two memory slots, or upgradeable memory tells you the RAM is not fixed. If the listing is silent, the maker's specification page is the place to read the memory configuration.
When a listing says upgradeable, read the maker's page to confirm the number of slots. Some designs have one slot occupied and one free; others have both occupied. The maker's specification will tell you the maximum supported capacity. For a laptop you plan to upgrade later, a free slot matters more than a slot that is already full.
| Question | Soldered RAM | SO-DIMM slot |
|---|---|---|
| Can it be changed later? | No, fixed at the factory | Yes, the module can be replaced or added |
| Where it often appears | Thin and light convertibles | Some larger or business models |
| What a listing usually says | A GB figure, sometimes onboard | Words such as SODIMM or upgradeable |
| What to check | The maker's page for soldered | The maker's page for slot count and access |
Thin designs and soldered RAM
A slim folding laptop has limited interior space. Soldered memory takes less room than a slot and its module, so it is a common choice for thin 2-in-1 designs. The trade-off is clear: you get a lower stated weight, but you give up the option to change memory later.
Intel's naming guide explains suffixes: U stands for power efficient, H for highest performance. A 2-in-1 with a U-series processor is likely to be thinner and lighter, which usually means soldered memory. A model with an H-series processor may have more interior space for a slot, but that is not a guarantee. The only reliable way is to read the maker's page for that exact model.
Processor suffixes help you read the design intent. Intel describes the U suffix as power efficient and the H suffix as highest performance in its naming guide. A listing with a U-series processor and a low stated weight points to a thin, light design, where soldered RAM is more common. The lightweight 2-in-1 guide gathers those thin converts into one comparison.
Microsoft's Windows 11 page describes touch gestures, voice commands, and a digital pen as supported ways to work. That is why screen input, not memory access, is the defining feature of this form factor.
Choosing the RAM amount at purchase
Because soldered RAM cannot be changed, the figure you choose at purchase is the figure you keep. Microsoft lists 4 GB of RAM as the minimum system requirement for Windows 11. That is a floor, not a comfortable working amount.
Microsoft states that Copilot+ PCs require 16 GB of DDR5 or LPDDR5 RAM. If a laptop's listing states 16 GB and the maker confirms it meets Copilot+ requirements, that configuration is one to consider for on-device AI features.
For a laptop you intend to keep for five years, consider what memory needs may grow. Documents and browsers tend to use more memory over time as updates add features. Choosing 16 GB at purchase can save you from wishing for a slot later.
For everyday use, a 2-in-1 with 8 GB is a common starting point, and 16 GB gives more room for many open windows and larger documents. The 16GB RAM guide compares convertibles with that stated figure, and the RAM capacity guide explains how much you actually need.
Reading a listing for memory details
RAM appears as a stated figure such as 8 GB, 16 GB, or 32 GB. The listing may add a memory type word such as DDR5 or LPDDR5. Those words describe the memory standard, not whether the memory is soldered or removable.
A listing that says not stated by the seller for memory type gives you no form-factor information. Compare listings on the stated RAM amount, and read the RAM type and speed article for what DDR5 and LPDDR5 mean.
For the form factor itself, the RAM form factor article walks through the differences between soldered and modular memory.
- RAM amount: stated in GB; compare it directly between listings.
- Memory type: DDR5 or LPDDR5 words; check the maker for what they mean.
- Form factor: soldered or SODIMM; often absent from the listing; check the maker's page.
Repairability and planning ahead
Repairability is about what can be replaced later. A SO-DIMM slot means a faulty module can be swapped. Soldered RAM means the motherboard itself would need service. For a laptop you plan to keep for years, a removable module gives you more options.
If the RAM is soldered and fails, the whole motherboard may need replacement, which can be part of a warranty claim. If the RAM is in a slot, a service center can swap just the module. Keep your purchase receipt and any warranty document; the maker's page explains the terms. This site does not cover warranty claims.
The site's guides do not rank laptops on repairability because the catalogue does not state it. They compare stated details such as RAM, storage, weight, and screen size. For upgrade questions beyond RAM, read the upgradeability article.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want at least 16 GB of RAM | A 2-in-1 listing that states 16 GB | Best 2 in 1 Laptops with 16GB RAM in 2026: 13 Picks |
| You want the lowest stated weight | A thin convertible with the RAM amount you need at purchase | Best Lightweight 2 in 1 Laptops in 2026: 12 Picks |
| You want to adjust memory after buying | A listing that states SODIMM slots or upgradeable memory | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Business 2026: 12 Picks |
| You are buying for a student | A convertible with 8 to 16 GB of stated RAM | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Students in 2026: 13 Picks |
| You want a general comparison of stated details | The site's convertible laptop comparison | Best 2 in 1 Laptop (2026): Convertible Laptop Reviews |
Questions
Can I add more RAM to a 2-in-1 laptop later?
Only if the memory is in a SO-DIMM slot. Soldered RAM cannot be changed after purchase. Check the maker's page for the words soldered, onboard, or SODIMM.
How do I know if a laptop has soldered RAM?
Listing titles rarely state it. If the listing gives a RAM amount without mentioning a slot, treat the memory as fixed. The maker's specification page is the reliable place to confirm.
Is soldered RAM worse than a SO-DIMM slot?
Not on its own. Soldered RAM is a common choice for thin 2-in-1 designs, while a slot gives you flexibility later. The deciding factor is choosing the right amount at purchase.
What is SO-DIMM?
SO-DIMM is the small removable memory module shape used in laptops. A SO-DIMM slot allows the module to be replaced or added if the maker provides access.
Does Windows 11 require a minimum amount of RAM?
Microsoft states 4 GB as the minimum system requirement for installing Windows 11 on a PC.
What RAM do Copilot+ PCs require?
Microsoft states that Copilot+ PCs require 16 GB of DDR5 or LPDDR5 RAM, along with a compatible processor and 256 GB of storage.
How can I check the memory configuration of a specific model?
Open the maker's specification page for that exact model number. Look for the memory section, which will state whether the RAM is onboard, soldered, or in a slot, and how many slots are available.
Recent updates
- : First published.