PCIe Gen4 vs Gen3 SSDs in 2-in-1s: What Matters
Short answer: PCIe Gen4 and Gen3 are versions of the storage connection inside a laptop drive. As words on a listing, they tell you the drive's interface generation, not how fast it feels in everyday work. For a 2-in-1 used for notes, reading, video calls, and documents, the stated storage size matters more than the generation. Listings often mention Gen4 as a positive; treat it as a detail to compare on paper, not a reason to pay extra. Read the capacity line first, compare RAM and screen size next, and leave the generation question for the maker's page.
What "PCIe Gen4" and "PCIe Gen3" mean on a listing
When a 2-in-1 listing says "PCIe Gen4 SSD" or "PCIe Gen3 SSD," it is describing how the storage drive connects to the rest of the laptop. PCIe is the connection standard; Gen3 and Gen4 are versions of that standard. Each newer generation is designed to allow more data to pass between the drive and the system in a given time. The catalogue does not state a speed figure for either generation, so this article explains the words, not a measured result.
The practical question for a buyer is simple: does the generation change what you can do with the laptop? For a convertible used for lectures, document reading, video calls, and light storage of files, the difference is mostly invisible in stated details. Both generations are solid-state drives, which means they store data on memory chips rather than spinning platters. That is why these drives are quiet and contain no moving parts. The guides on this site compare stated storage capacity and RAM as the primary buying factors; the PCIe generation is a secondary word.
You will also see "NVMe" next to PCIe on some listings. NVMe is a protocol designed for solid-state drives that use the PCIe connection. As a phrase on a title, it simply identifies the type of SSD interface. It does not tell you which generation the drive uses, nor does it promise a particular real-world response. Read it as a descriptor, not as a performance badge.
How to read a storage line that mentions Gen4
A typical title may read "512GB PCIe Gen4 SSD" or "1TB Gen3 NVMe SSD." The number before the unit is the capacity, which is the detail that determines how many files, apps, and documents you can keep on the laptop. The words after the capacity describe the drive type and interface. On this site, the guides group listings by capacity, not by PCIe generation, because the capacity answers the buyer's first question: how much does this 2-in-1 hold?
If you are deciding between 256GB and 512GB, compare the capacity guides side by side. A 256GB drive is enough for everyday documents and a modest app collection, but a 512GB drive gives more room for photos, videos, and offline files. The generation word does not change that comparison. For a student who mostly takes notes and reads PDFs, the 512GB SSD guide is a useful starting point. For someone who keeps a large local media library, the 1TB SSD guide and the 2TB SSD guide cover the higher-capacity options.
When a listing adds a docking station or another part to the storage figure, read the sum as a combined number, not as the laptop's own drive. The laptop's internal storage is the figure that appears next to the drive type on the main spec line. If a listing states only the combined figure, check the maker's page for the internal drive size before comparing two listings.
Compatibility: what to check on the maker's page
If you are comparing two listings and one says Gen3 and the other says Gen4, the choice is not about which runs faster in daily use. The stated RAM and storage capacity, the processor family, and the operating system are the details that decide whether a 2-in-1 fits your needs. The PCIe generation is a compatibility detail only if you plan to open the laptop and change the drive later, which is uncommon in thin convertibles.
The catalogue does not state whether a drive is replaceable or which generation the slot supports. Those questions belong on the maker's official page. The guides on this site do not claim any upgrade support; they compare the stated details of each listing and point you to official sources for anything else. If a listing mentions a drive bay but does not give the interface, treat the interface as unknown and decide on other factors.
Microsoft lists 64 GB or larger as the minimum storage requirement for Windows 11, so any modern 2-in-1 listing with 256 GB or more passes that bar. The capacity guides on this site are built around that reality. If you see a listing with an unusually small drive, read the Windows requirement as a baseline and consider whether the maker's page confirms the complete configuration.
Why the generation is a secondary detail
The guides on this site rank convertibles by the details that change what you can store and run: the storage capacity, the RAM, the screen size, and the processor family. A Gen3 drive with the same capacity stores the same amount of files as a Gen4 drive. Windows 11 lists a minimum storage requirement of 64 GB or larger, so any modern listing with 256 GB or more passes that bar.
For a buyer choosing a 2-in-1 for a household or a student, the meaningful difference between two listings is more often the screen size or the RAM, not the PCIe generation. The best 2-in-1 laptop guide explains how the site ranks convertibles by stated details. Spend your comparison effort on the capacity and the RAM line, and treat "Gen4" as a title word rather than a reason to choose one laptop over another.
The same advice applies when a listing uses terms like "AI PC" or "Copilot+" near the storage line. Those phrases describe a platform or a feature set, not the drive itself. The storage capacity still answers the question of how much you can keep. The processor and RAM lines answer the question of what you can run. The PCIe generation answers none of those questions directly.
What to compare before you pick a convertible
Start with capacity. Look for a listing that gives a clear number such as 512GB or 1TB. If the capacity is not stated in the title, check the bullet list and, if it is still missing, look at the maker's page. A listing that leaves out the storage size is less useful for a comparison, so the site's guides favor listings that state it plainly.
Then compare RAM. Windows 11 lists 4 GB as the minimum RAM, but the guides on this site group models by configurations that are more practical for everyday multitasking. The 16GB RAM guide is a good next step if you plan to keep many browser tabs and apps open. Storage and RAM work together: a roomy drive holds your files, while RAM determines how many apps you can have open at once.
Finally, check the processor family and the screen size. For a 2-in-1, the screen size changes how portable it feels and how much room the keyboard has. The student guide walks through these trade-offs in the context of note-taking and shared use. Once you have shortlisted two or three listings by capacity, RAM, and screen size, you can read the maker's page for the drive generation if you still care about that detail.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want the largest stated storage for documents and media | A listing with 1TB or 2TB capacity, regardless of whether the title says Gen3 or Gen4 | Best 1TB SSD 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 12 Picks |
| You are on a budget and storage is the trade-off | A 512GB listing; the capacity is enough for everyday files | Best 512GB SSD 2 in 1 Laptops 2026: 15 Picks |
| You need room for large local files and want the stated highest capacity | A 2TB SSD listing from the capacity guide | Best 2TB SSD 2 in 1 Laptops (2026): 4 Picks |
| You want a laptop for a student and the generation word confuses the choice | Compare by RAM and capacity first, then read the maker's page for any drive details | Best 2 in 1 Laptops for Students in 2026: 13 Picks |
Questions
Does PCIe Gen4 make a 2-in-1 faster in everyday use?
The catalogue does not state a speed figure for either generation. As general knowledge, newer PCIe versions are designed for higher data rates, but the site cannot claim how that feels in tasks like notes or video calls. The stated storage capacity and RAM are the details that the guides compare.
Should I avoid a 2-in-1 that says PCIe Gen3?
No. The guides do not rank listings by the PCIe generation. A Gen3 drive can store the same amount as a Gen4 drive. Read the capacity line for the number of files you can keep, and compare RAM and screen size as the next steps.
What should I check on the maker's page for a drive?
The catalogue states capacity and often the drive type. For questions about replacement or the exact interface supported, the maker's page is the official source. The site's guides do not state upgrade support for any convertible.
Why do some listings add a docking station to the storage number?
A seller may combine the laptop's internal drive with a separate part, such as a docking station that includes a drive. Read that as a combined figure, not as the laptop's own storage. The internal drive size is what matters when comparing two 2-in-1 listings.
Is PCIe Gen4 the same as NVMe?
No. NVMe is a protocol for solid-state drives, while PCIe Gen3 and Gen4 are versions of the physical connection. A listing can say NVMe without giving the PCIe generation. The guides on this site compare the stated capacity and leave the generation to the maker's page.
Recent updates
- : First published.